Collaborative Leadership Team

Since 2017, Inward Bound Mindfulness has been engaged in shifting our organizational structure, moving away from a typical hierarchical, top-down power structure which ultimately ends with the Executive Director being the primary decision-maker, and managers making decisions and having their reporting staff carry out those decisions. Inward Bound has instead shifted to a Collaborative Leadership System with shared decision-making, meaning that staff distributes decisions based on each person’s roles and responsibilities, willingness, and resources. This collaborative decision making also extends to a network of committees and the Board, that work with the staff to set strategies and make decisions. This process is supported by robust systems of feedback, resource, and information flows, which also extends out to include retreat staff and volunteers.

Staff Leadership

Staff leadership holds responsibility for day-to-day functioning of the organization and achieving long-term strategic goals. In our Collaborative Leadership System, job titles are replaced with domains of responsibility and decision-making, which are reflected for each staff leader below.
Nikki Cistac profile photo

Nikki Cistac Programs & Community Engagement

Jennifer Heitel profile photo

Jennifer Heitel Operations & Finance

Frances Ku profile photo

Frances Ku Brand, Marketing, & Content

Dave Macek profile photo

Dave Macek Development & Business Strategy

Sarah Wrean profile photo

Sarah Wrean Public & Custom Programs

Support Staff

The support staff consists of individuals and organizations who support our work across programs, marketing, outreach, digital media, diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility, and miscellaneous operational and administrative responsibilities.
Raquel Castro profile photo

Raquel Castro Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility Committee

Khalila Gillett profile photo

Khalila Gillett Mindfulness Teacher Training

Shane Rasnak profile photo

Shane Rasnak Digital Marketing & Consulting

Justin Wilson profile photo

Justin Wilson Clear Scope Design, Digital Solutions

Non Profit Capital Management profile photo

Non Profit Capital Management Bookkeeping Team


Committees are near-permanent circles of collaborative leadership. Together, they make up the innermost matrix of responsibility and power at Inward Bound. They are self-sustaining, responsible for electing members and adapting general collaborative committee guidelines to serve themselves and the whole system best. A member from each committee holds a seat on the Board of Directors.

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility Committee

Guiding Teachers Committee

Systems Committee

Youth Advisory Committee


Inward Bound’s board is built by each of our stipend-supported standing committees fulfilling a member seat. This integrated process makes board membership more accessible and brings a full diversity of perspectives into leadership.
Anthony Sartori profile photo

Anthony Sartori Director, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility Committee Board Representative

Dave Macek profile photo

Dave Macek Treasurer (Interim)

Falcon Laina profile photo

Falcon Laina Director, Youth Advisory Committee Board Representative

Jacqui Clay profile photo

Jacqui Clay Board President, Systems Committee Board Representative

Jennifer Heitel profile photo

Jennifer Heitel Secretary, Staff Board Representative

Mark Wax profile photo

Mark Wax Director


Brian Galla profile photo

Brian Galla

Diana Winston profile photo

Diana Winston

Gretchen N. Rohr profile photo

Gretchen N. Rohr

JoAnna Hardy profile photo

JoAnna Hardy

John Braman profile photo

John Braman

Linda Lantieri profile photo

Linda Lantieri

Patricia Broderick profile photo

Patricia Broderick

Philip Murphy profile photo

Philip Murphy

Spring Washam profile photo

Spring Washam

Tara Brach profile photo

Tara Brach

Tempel Smith profile photo

Tempel Smith

Vijay Sinha profile photo

Vijay Sinha

Willoughby Britton profile photo

Willoughby Britton